Supporting musical awareness

SUPPORT FROM EDUCATION AUTHORITIES

Each year more than 8000 school pupils, ranging from primary pupils to higher education students, benefit from €4 entry to La Folle Journée concerts.

To further support raising classical music awareness, the local education board and their delegation for cultural action , with the support of the Endowment Fund, make it possible nearly a thousand secondary school and college students in the Loire region to participate in several different artistic and cultural courses.
In addition to the La Folle Journée concerts, these projects incorporate an exploration of the theme covered by that year’s festival through another artistic medium (architecture and urbanism, painting, cinema...) with the pupils’ creations being displayed on various partners’ websites.

Participants on these courses benefit from music awareness concerts, educational visits to the festival sites, film showings (at the Cinématograph in Nantes) and studying paintings (at the Arts Museum in Nantes).


 

MUSIC AWARENESS CONCERTS

As part of the partnership with Accoord, the Endowment Fund offer the inhabitants of Nantes the chance to attend a music awareness concert based on the current La Folle Journée theme.

Several shows are open to the public in various public buildings and socio-cultural centres sited around the town at the beginning of the year. Because these shows are intended to be accessible to everybody, both in terms of format and the handling of the theme, this approach is a significant first step for various audiences in discovering La Folle Journée. In addition, it is a clear example of the Festival’s desire to integrate as closely as possible with the local community.


 

THEATRE PERFORMANCES

For more than ten years, La Folle Journée has been offering a unique piece of theatre based on the theme of the current edition. This is paid for using the Endowment Fund.  

Performed in schools and some of Nantes’ media libraries, it is a way to raise awareness of the works and composers on the festival’s programme. The itinerant nature of this project, which offers performances in secondary schools and colleges throughout the Loire Region and in different Nantes districts, means that it is a useful tool in raising musical awareness in all communities. The high quality of this theatrical piece written by Patrick Barbier, musicologist and professor at the University of Angers, and directed by Pierre Lebrun, also explains its success amongst all of those who have seen it.


 

DECENTRALISED CONCERTS

Within the framework of the Endowment Fund projects, CRÉA (the body responsible for the artistic management of the festival) organises a number of concerts each year that take place outside the usual festival site.

These concerts target in particular those members of the community who are unable to travel to Nantes and are performed by La Folle Journée musicians. In this way, classical music is seen and heard in retirement homes, hospitals, care centres for children with disabilities, detention centres and also the Passage Sainte-Croix and the University of Nantes. These concerts are highly appreciated by the beneficiaries and very often help them to recreate links with the outside world.

A high-quality cultural offer, taking classical music to those who are said to be “unable” in some way and those who don’t visit classical music venues of their own accord.
 

LA FOLLE JOURNÉE INTRODUCTORY SESSION FOR YOUNG PEOPLE TAKEN INTO CUSTODY

When young people are taken into custody, they very often re-question their relationship with society and are looking to redefine their place within it.

In order to promote their social and professional integration and their cultural awareness, the Endowment Fund and the Direction de la Protection Judiciaire de la Jeunesse (DPJJ - Department for the Legal Protection of Young People) have jointly created La Folle Journée introductory sessions. Focusing initially on participants’ apprehension regarding the world of work, they enable both minors and older people who are monitored by the DPJJ and Child Protection services to meet professionals from the world of performance (technicians, musicians, production assistants ...) and to do work experience within the La Folle Journée semi-public company.

They also take part in discussion groups on music, attend the La Folle Journée concerts with their families, and for those who are subject to penal measures, carry out logistics and administrative projects within the festival production company.


BABY MUSIC WORKSHOPS

La Folle Journée has regular “apprentice” concert-goers in its audiences and it therefore seems clear that this very youngest age group needs particular attention paid to them. The Endowment Fund has therefore decided to offer 0-3 year olds an age-appropriate introduction to music, including a first sensorial exploration of classical music. Several nurseries and other childcare facilities in the priority districts of Nantes will benefit from these workshops twice, both before and after the festival. It is hoped that they can also be held in other places in Nantes.

Accompagnement à la sensibilisation musicale

Parcours pédagogiques autour de La Folle Journée

Plus de 7 000 scolaires - de la primaire à l’enseignement supérieur - bénéficient chaque année de places de concerts au prix de 4€ grâce à La Folle Journée Solidaire, l’un des axes forts du Fonds de Dotation.


C’est dans ce cadre que le Rectorat et la Délégation Académique à l’Action Culturelle proposent à près d’un millier d’élèves des collèges et lycées de la Région Pays de la Loire plusieurs parcours pluridisciplinaires d’éducation artistique et culturelle.
Outre les concerts de La Folle Journée, ces propositions intègrent l’exploration de la thématique de l’édition du festival à travers un autre domaine artistique (architecture et urbanisme, peinture, cinéma…) et la restitution des productions des élèves sur les sites Internet des différents partenaires.

Les participantes et participants à ces parcours peuvent assister à un spectacle de sensibilisation musicale, rencontrer des musiciens issus de la programmation de La Folle Journée, visiter le quartier et les lieux du festival, assister à des projections de films au Cinématographe ou encore étudier des tableaux liés à la thématique de l’édition en cours au Musée d’Arts.

Spectacle de sensibilisation musicale

Dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec l’Accoord, le Fonds de Dotation propose aux habitantes et habitants des quartiers nantais d’assister gratuitement à un spectacle de sensibilisation musicale construit autour de la thématique de l’édition en cours de La Folle Journée.

Plusieurs représentations ouvertes à tous les publics ont lieu dans les maisons de quartier et centres socio-culturels au début de l'année. Parce qu’elle est accessible à toutes et tous, tant par son format que par son traitement d’une thématique, cette proposition constitue un premier pas pour les publics vers la découverte de La Folle Journée ; plus encore, elle représente un signal fort de la volonté du festival de se déplacer au plus près des populations.

Représentation théâtrale

Depuis plus de 10 ans, La Folle Journée propose, via son Fonds de Dotation, une pièce de théâtre spécialement conçue autour de la thématique de l’édition en cours.

Donnée dans les établissements scolaires mais aussi dans certaines médiathèques de la métropole nantaise, elle permet d’évoquer les œuvres et compositeurs programmés pendant le festival. Parce que cette proposition se déplace dans l’enceinte des collèges et lycées de la Région Pays de la Loire et dans différents quartiers de la ville, elle constitue un outil pertinent au service de la sensibilisation musicale de tous les publics. La qualité de cette pièce écrite par Patrick Barbier, musicologue et professeur à l’Université d’Angers, et mise en scène par Pierre Lebrun, est une autre explication à son succès auprès de l’ensemble des spectateurs. 

 Concerts décentralisés

Dans le cadre des missions du Fonds de Dotation, le CRÉA, qui assure la direction artistique du festival, propose chaque année de nombreux concerts hors les murs.

Particulièrement destinés aux populations ne pouvant se déplacer jusqu’à La Cité des Congrès de Nantes, ces concerts sont donnés par des artistes programmés dans le cadre de La Folle Journée. La musique classique se donne ainsi à voir et à entendre auprès des résidents des maisons de retraite, centres hospitaliers, crèches pour enfants en situation de handicap, maisons d’arrêt, centres de détention, mais aussi au Passage Sainte-Croix et à l’Université de Nantes. Très attendus par l’ensemble des bénéficiaires, ces concerts d’une grande qualité leur permettent de renforcer leur lien avec l’extérieur.

Parcours de découverte de La Folle Journée pour des jeunes sous main de justice

Lorsqu’ils sont placés sous main de justice, les jeunes re-questionnent leur rapport à la société et sont en quête d’une redéfinition de leur place en son sein.

Pour favoriser leur insertion sociale et professionnelle, le Fonds de Dotation et la Direction de la Protection Judiciaire de la Jeunesse ont co-construit des parcours de découverte de La Folle Journée. Orientés d’abord autour de l’appréhension du monde du travail, ils permettent à des personnes mineures et majeures suivies par les services de la DPJJ et de la Protection de l’Enfance de rencontrer des professionnels du milieu du spectacle (techniciens, musiciens, chargés de production…) et d’effectuer des stages au sein de la SAEM La Folle Journée.

Ils participent également à des cafés-échanges autour de la musique, se rendent en famille à des concerts de La Folle Journée et, pour ceux placés sous le coup d’une mesure pénale, effectuent des missions de logistique et d’administration au sein de la société de production du festival. Ce parcours est soutenu par le Ministère de la Justice, la DRAC des Pays de la Loire ainsi que le Crédit Municipal de Nantes.

Atelier d'éveil musical

Si La Folle Journée reçoit régulièrement dans ses concerts des apprentis spectateurs et apprenties spectatrices, force est de constater que les tout-petits nécessitent une attention bien particulière. Le Fonds de Dotation a donc choisi de proposer aux 0-3 ans des ateliers d’éveil musical spécialement conçus et adaptés à eux, comme une première exploration sensorielle de la musique classique. Grâce au soutien de la délégation régionale et de la Fondation Engie ainsi qu’à celui du Crédit Municipal de Nantes, plusieurs crèches et multi-accueils des quartiers prioritaires nantais recevront à deux reprises ces ateliers animés par la compagnie Musiqu'éveil, avant et après le festival.

Ces ateliers-concerts, adaptés aux enfants accueillis dans chaque structure, sont construits en deux parties : une première centrée sur l’écoute et la vue, une seconde plus participative invitant au mouvement et à la danse puis donnant l’occasion de toucher les instruments amenés par les musiciennes et musiciens. Les adultes (parents, assistant-e-s maternel-le-s…) sont invités à venir partager avec leurs enfants ces 40 minutes de découverte musicale.